Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff


illuminar

The Story:

“Am I not merciful?”

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

My Thoughts:

5/5 Stars!!!! (But really all the stars).

Holy crap. Holy crap. HOLY CRAP.
Get ready for a major gush.

This book blew my mind, which was my first reaction after finishing this book.
It was visually appealing. At times, the text almost resembled concrete poetry, and I love concrete poetry. I’ve written a paper about concrete poetry and its visual symbolism and representation. Let me say that both authors nailed this. Ugh. It was just so beautiful and so effective. The text moved, it flowed, and it made an impact. Every word had a place that represented something whether it was the movement of a spaceship or emotion. I cannot stress enough how amazing they incorporated art and text. Even more, the authors went as far as setting the text up as case files. I didn’t know I would understand and follow the format, but none of the text is random. There’s always a pattern, and after awhile, it was easy to recognize and fall into a comfortable flow.

Yet, nothing was comfortable about this book. From the first page, I was gripping the book in anticipation. It was so fast-paced, and nothing seemed forced or obtrusive to the plot. Everything seemed to fit perfectly. A lot happened throughout these pages, but everything seemed logical as I said. I don’t want to throw out specifics; because the best thing I did for myself while reading this book, was that I read it blindly. Trust me when I say this that it completely deserves the hype, and I cannot fathom why no one would enjoy this book.

Ok, the characters now. I immediately fell in love. Character, starry-eyed love. They were sarcastic, capable, and I rooted for them the whole time. They will forever and always be my book-couple. Relationship goals, seriously. I know I am writing in two-worded sentences, but that’s exactly how obsessed I am with this book. Concerning the other characters, I appreciate that these authors did not make an unrealistic everybody-lives ending. Honestly, these endings make me sigh. Now, this isn’t to say that I choked up at some points, but I am glad that they both followed the “kill your darlings” idea in order to have a more satisfying resolution.

I have heard also amazing reviews for the second book, but I am a bit hesitant. I really want more of these two characters, because the second book follows two new characters. And these characters are my lovelies, and I want their story to continue. Although, I’m sure everything will be fine. And guess what! Yes, it is confirmed. There is a third Illuminae book in the near future!

Goodreads    II       Amazon     II     Book Depository    II     Thriftbooks

 

Leave a Reply

