The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater


the-raven-boysThe Story 

“The trees speak Latin”

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them–until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.

His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn’t believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

My Thoughts

I cannot rate this series because it means so much to me.

Disclaimer: review for the whole series, and yes, I excluded spoilers.

Have you ever read a series that was perfect? It described the world perfectly and it somehow described you perfectly? This is how I feel about this book series. From start to finish. I can’t pinpoint what exactly was me from this book, but everything was and is essentially me. All it’s sharp edges, darkness, hope, and magic. This series is what I hope someday to become as a writer.

Anyway, you’re probably already tired of my gushing.

The Raven Cycle is one of my top favorite series of all time. Yes, that means it’s up there on the list with Harry Potter. And yes, that means I DID love all of its four books, which if you haven’t noticed, is pretty unheard of for a YA series. That is to say, not many series can boast having all its books stand-alone as great novels themselves, but also as a cohesive collage of a series. Stiefvater, it seemed, stayed true to herself and the plot, and the rest unraveled itself.

I will say this reader, if you pick up these books, you will fall in love. You will fall in love with a book, which seems improbable and highly illogical, but it will happen. Especially with the characters. Can we all say squad goals? The characters are so complex and fleshed out, but that’s not the best part. What they have together as a unit and their own threads connecting them, is what makes and lets me love them. It speaks so much truth. That’s what Stiefvater is brilliant at, writing the truth in a paranormal world. (I realize now my sentences are ungrammatical. Oh well, these are my rawest thoughts).

If what I’ve said hasn’t convinced somehow, I also will praise the “originality” of this story. Of course, this isn’t the first book that host physics and the like, but the way Stiefvater tells a story was previously unknown to me. She creates a web and everything gets caught in that web, but what she creates and connects is new. Who has ever read a story about teenagers trying to find a dead king? Not me. (No, this is not really a spoiler.)

Now that I have laid out all my feelings for you, reader. I must urge you to pick up this series. If you’re not a paranormal fan, these books are so much more than that. They’re about hope, friendship, family, loyalty, and love.

Goodreads      II          Amazon       II        Book Depository          II      Thriftbooks


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s