The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass, #0.5) by Sarah J Maas

the-assassins-blade

The Story

“She was fire, she was darkness, she was dust and blood and shadow.”

Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin’s Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. In these action-packed novellas – together in one edition for the first time – Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and seeks to avenge the tyrannous. But she is acting against Arobynn’s orders and could suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery. Will Celaena ever be truly free? Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine to find out.

My Thoughts

★★★★★ 5/5 stars!

The crazy thing about this novel is that I knew what was coming. I knew that it would rip out my heart and stomp it, and I was almost asking for it.

Besides that lovely point, this book was amazing. It could serve as an extra side/prequel story to the already published book in the series, or someone could start with this book and continue with the series.
Also, I don’t understand why it’s labeled as a novella. It could clearly substitute as another novel with its own story. It flows easily as such.

The stories are not spoilers in of themselves, but I liked the tale of Calaena’s time with the Silent Assassin’s. From all of these stories, we the readers saw how Calaena matured into who see is today. She became a wild angry animal filled with hate into someone lost, misled, but determined. I liked to see life before the tournament,, before the rest of it. I have not read Queen of Shadows, so I never saw a scene with Abroynn (or whatever, and I am unsure if he comes up in the book). Anyway, it was interesting to understand the lifestyle Calaena was forced into, and it explains a lot and makes me sympathize with her even more.

The romantic story was my favorite thus far. I won’t reference the other books, but I actually prefer this couple together, even though, well…we all know how it ends. It felt more natural in contrast to Calaena’s other love interests. Sometimes, I think that not one person, in a fantasy novel or not, has that many guys chasing one girl. But this argument is for another time, and I am getting off-topic.

It was an amazing addition that I believe should be read along with the other books.

Goodreads     II        Amazon       II     Book Depository     II     Thriftbooks

Leave a comment