November 9 by Colleen Hoover

 

november 9.jpg

 

“You’ll never be able to find yourself, if you’re lost within someone else.”

Fallon meets Ben,an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move.Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

My Thoughts:

★★★★ 4/5 stars!

When I’m in the mood for an angsty contemporary, romance novel, I know Colleen Hoover will be my go-to author. It’s perfect for when I’m in this kind of mood, because otherwise in another situation, I could see myself critically judging its characters and plot.

The story kept me hooked, and that is a fact. I wanted to know how the couple ended up together, in the end, and I wanted everything to be ok between them. Do I condone every stupid choice they made? Certainly not. I feel like a lot of the problems in this book could’ve been solved if the two of them just sat down and calmly communicate their insecurities, questions, and needs. Then again, the characters are young and a bit immature, but in a sense, it’s a bit justified due to their age.

I do appreciate that Colleen Hoover always complicates the plot in some unsuspecting way. I can never see it coming, and this alone sets the book apart from others in its genre. It’s not a simple, mindless read. It does have substance. The concept of two people meeting up on the same day and time every year is refreshing, as well. Some might expect the two characters to continue to fall in love each time, but Colleen Hoover definitely had other plans.

Not my favorite book of all time, but I would recommend this book for people who enjoy adult fiction or want a break from life.

Goodreads    II     Amazon     II       Book Depository     II    Thriftbooks

Leave a Reply

