Confess by Colleen Hover

 

confess

The Story

“I’m afraid if I listen to my heart once, I’ll never figure out how to ignore it again.”

Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

My Thoughts

★★★ 3.5/5 stars!

Compared to the last few books I’ve read of Hoover, I feel like Confess is lacking. A lot. And yes, that means Confess is my least favorite book of her’s thus far for a couple of reasons.

I know most of her books (at least the ones I’ve read) are insta-love, but she usually does a better job of justifying it. In this book, however, I saw zero to little justification. They met for a couple of hours, didn’t talk that much, but they somehow fell for each other. They weren’t even friends, so with everything it just made the love a little unbelievable and immature.
Their narration was annoying to read, as well. Both Owen and Auburn were back and forth literally every other paragraph. In one paragraph, Auburn would try to convince herself to stay away from Owen, and then the next she would confess (see what I did there?) that she couldn’t help herself. Afterward, she would go back to her original thought of reserve. It was a little too much. It gave me a metaphorical headache. Hoover should have just organized their thoughts better, or at least give them something else to think about instead about their unending, conflicting feelings for each other.

The most redeeming quality of this book, that saved it for me, was the aspect of painting. It was intriguing how Hoover incorporated two different types of art, and I enjoyed seeing how art connected everyone in different ways. It was unique, and many books just rely on words, instead.

Yet, with everything, I think I’m going to take a break from Hoover. I definitely had problems with this book, but maybe I’m not in the mood for these angsty books. I’ll return to this author when I’m ready.

Goodreads  II      Amazon     II       Book Depository

Leave a Reply

