Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

 

since youve been gone.jpg

The Story

“I know things might not work, and I know it’s scary, but the things that are worth it are. It feels right.”

It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.

On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?

Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.

Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not?

Kiss a stranger? Um…

Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find?

My Thoughts

★★★★★ 4.5/5 stars!

“In a well-ordered universe…” this book was pretty adorable. Can I just gush about the book cover too?

Yet, contemporary novels have been giving me trouble lately. The very few that I’ve picked up are either terribly cliche or rawly original. This contemporary took a semi-unique plot, but used its cliche themes wisely.

The plot rating system…
Semi-predictable: the list.
Unpredictable: doing the list.
Predictable: the ending.

Due to more than intuition, the ending was predictable. Yet, I was not disheartened by guessing it. I cared so much for the characters and I wished the best for them, that I was crossing my fingers constantly. That’s an aspect that made this story more engaging for me. I actually cared about the characters. They were adorable in every way.Unfortunately, authors flatten teenage characters or embellish them so much that they become unrealistic.

I am a tiny bit frustrated that one of the subplots was not resolved, and then I RESOLVED in lowering its stars to 4.5. I read in the bonus material, however, that Matson might plan on rectifying it in a sequel (if there is one).

I will admit that this book had a similar theme to that of a certain John Green book, if I remember correctly. My lips are sealed, but I will also admit that the story does not contain the same philosophical depth as his books do. This is truly a light-reading book for a person in need of some laughs and second-hand embarrassment.

P.S. I have an urge to sing the song by Kelly Clarkson every time I say the title of this book.

Goodreads    II     Amazon     II      Book Depository    II         Thriftbooks

Leave a Reply

