The Final Empire (Mistborn, #1) by Brandon Sanderson

 

the final empire

The Story

“Our belief is often strongest when it should be the weakest. That is the nature of hope.”

In a world where ash falls from the sky, and mist dominates the night, an evil cloaks the land and stifles all life. The future of the empire rests on the shoulders of a troublemaker and his young apprentice. Together, can they fill the world with color once more?

In Brandon Sanderson’s intriguing tale of love, loss, despair and hope, a new kind of magic enters the stage — Allomancy, a magic of the metals.

My Thoughts

★★★★★ (It deserves like a billion).

At first, the story started off as confusing. I didn’t know where Sanderson was taking me. This didn’t last that long, however. I was quickly sucked into their world.

I can say that I’ve never read a fantasy novel like this. There were no dragons and there were no typical “mages.” (I’m talking about you Eragon). Yet, this story was a step above that. It took what we conceived as a magic system with shooting fire out of your fingers tips, to another dimension. I was very impressed with it, and the battle scenes. THE BATTLE SCENES. With the unique magic that exists in the book, I was a bit worried about how Sanderson would describe action scenes or just how the characters would normally use them. He figured out a way, though. I was never confused or overwhelmed. (Maybe Sanderson is a “wizard” himself).

All the characters, major and minor, seemed detailed enough that if something happened to them I would either cry from grief or laugh from satisfaction. Trust me, I know a book is beyond the 5-star scale when I literally want to murder the antagonist and rescue my fellow children (AKA characters).

Sanderson does play with the idea of morality, and I love that. I won’t elaborate for spoiler reasons, but just look for it when you read it. It intrigued me how he just slipped that in there for our philosophical-enjoyment. My mind was satisfied.

There is no doubt that I will continue with this series. I want to see what world I will be taken to with Sanderson.

Goodreads    II    Amazon     II     Book Depository    II     Thriftbooks

Leave a Reply

