The Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling

 

3

The Story

“Words are, in my not-so-humble opinion, our most inexhaustible source of magic.”

Harry Potter’s life is miserable. His parents are dead and he’s stuck with his heartless relatives, who force him to live in a tiny closet under the stairs. But his fortune changes when he receives a letter that tells him the truth about himself: he’s a wizard. A mysterious visitor rescues him from his relatives and takes him to his new home, Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

After a lifetime of bottling up his magical powers, Harry finally feels like a normal kid. But even within the Wizarding community, he is special. He is the boy who lived: the only person to have ever survived a killing curse inflicted by the evil Lord Voldemort, who launched a brutal takeover of the Wizarding world, only to vanish after failing to kill Harry.

Though Harry’s first year at Hogwarts is the best of his life, not everything is perfect. There is a dangerous secret object hidden within the castle walls, and Harry believes it’s his responsibility to prevent it from falling into evil hands. But doing so will bring him into contact with forces more terrifying than he ever could have imagined.

My Thoughts

Priceless/5 stars!

Dear reader,

Six years and seven books later, it ends finally.
I am utterly speechless. I felt like I took the biggest and longest journey into Harry’s world, and now, all of a sudden, “All is well.” I feel a major book hangover coming on, because seriously, what series can outdo Harry Potter?
It’s magical (pun intended) story melts away the outside world. The reader watches Harry like a guardian, traveling with him on his adventures, and crying when someone he loves dies, and silently begging for him to survive.
I don’t know why it took me so long to finish this series. I thought it would be tedious work and moot since I saw all the movies. Wow, was I wrong. The books fill in the gaps from the movie. I felt more involved with Harry and his story, and sometimes, the movies interpreted a scene different or omitted information altogether. I have read from the first to last page of this series, and I still feel like there’s more to explore. Even though it has ended, has it truly ended? I could read it again and discover something I glanced over just before.
I have also never wanted to be part of a fictional(?) as much as this one. I want to be right there in Hogwarts at the Ravenclaw table. (Unfortunately, I am not a UK citizen). That’s what great about this series too: they make you want to believe. They make you dream of possibilities and worlds that you once thought were out of your reach. But, oh no, Rowling made everything real. Everything believable and magical.

I hope all is well,
Allison

P.S. Please read this series.

Goodreads   II   Amazon  II    Book Depository   II    Thriftbooks

One thought on “The Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling

Leave a Reply

