The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

 

the strange and beautiful sorrows of ava la

The Story

“Children betrayed their parents by becoming their own people.”

Foolish love appears to be the Roux family birthright, an ominous forecast for its most recent progeny, Ava Lavender. Ava—in all other ways a normal girl—is born with the wings of a bird.

In a quest to understand her peculiar disposition and a growing desire to fit in with her peers, sixteen-year old Ava ventures into the wider world, ill-prepared for what she might discover and naïve to the twisted motives of others. Others like the pious Nathaniel Sorrows, who mistakes Ava for an angel and whose obsession with her grows until the night of the Summer Solstice celebration.

That night, the skies open up, rain and feathers fill the air, and Ava’s quest and her family’s saga build to a devastating crescendo.

My Thoughts

★★★★★ 5/5 stars!

I just closed the final page to this book, and then the feeling of sweet bitterness overcame me. Mind you, I have never used sweet and bitterness in the same sentence before. It was like this book wanted to hurt me, and I let it.

Overall, this a lovely, but sorrowful story about a girl born with wings. She recounts the strangeness of her family, and their stories always remind us how “Love makes us such fools.” I love the message behind it all. Even though the journey was slow, I was never once bored. I wanted Walton to give me more of everything. I want more story, but I think how it ends also speaks to how the story unfolds.

The writing also enchanted me with its rawness and beauty. I was amazed at how easily Walton mirrored life and it’s ironies. Somehow, she could use the power of suggestion to imply something, but then completely be blunt in the next scene. The juxtaposition was refreshing, and I believe it reflects how the world truly is, not how we imagine it to be.

This is a love story, but don’t expect the traditional girl and guy see each other, date, and have a happily ever after. Love, in this book, is blind, consequence, foolish, sorrowful, and bitter. Yet, this story is also a hopeful one. What can we do with the love that we are given, instead of chasing love we cannot have?

This book will always have a special place on my bookshelf.

Goodreads    II    Amazon     II     Book Depository     II       Thriftbooks

2 thoughts on “The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

Leave a Reply

